Election night 2019 (Photo)

Chief returning officer Michelle Wang addressed the crowd as results night began, Feb. 7, 2019.

The University Students’ Council election season has come to an end with a 24.3 per cent voter turnout; a total of 8,020 voters of 32,995 registered electors.

Here are this year’s winners:

USC president/vice-president: Team Bardia+Cat 2019 won the presidential election with a total of 4,277 votes making up 58.4 per cent of this year’s student voter turnout.

Arts & Humanities faculty president: Jerika Caduhada won with 133 votes, 57.1  per cent majority.

Arts & Humanities council representative: Chava Bychutsky was acclaimed for the role.

MIT faculty president: Kyra Balogh won with 285 votes, a 73.8 per cent majority.

Health Sciences president: Zain Al-Shamil was acclaimed for the role.

Health Sciences faculty representative: Mukhtar Hindi was acclaimed for the role.

Health Studies association president: Christopher Ruffell was acclaimed for the role.

Kinesiology association president: Rebecca Jansen was acclaimed for the role.

Kinesiology association council representative: Mena Atalla was acclaimed for the role.

Nursing association president: Vivianne Quang won with 164 votes, a 48.5 per cent majority.

Music faculty president: Leah Macdonald won with 108 votes, a 60.7 per cent majority.

Science faculty president: Victoria Barroso won with 881 votes, a 61.8 per cent majority.

Science faculty representatives:

Babafemi Adewusi: 422 votes (12.3  per cent)

Jacky Lee: 412 votes (12 per cent)

Muhammad Hassan Ali: 391 votes (11.4 per cent)

Bahar Entezari: 379 votes (11.1 per cent)

Matthew Yee: 366 votes (9.8 per cent)

Artika Pahargarh: 335 votes (9.8 per cent) COIN TOSS tied with Niveda Balananthan 335 votes (9.8 per cent)

Social Science president: Nikol Kamenetsky won with 609 votes, a 43.9 per cent majority.

Social Science faculty representatives:

Anne Campbell: 495 votes (11.9 per cent)

Matt Reesor: 407 votes (9.8 per cent)

Liam Cronin: 373 votes (9 per cent)

Zamir Fakirani: 311 votes (7.5 per cent)

Vishal Vijay: 292 votes (7 per cent)

Celine Mano: 287 votes (6.9 per cent)

Clarke Keenan: 283 votes (6.8 per cent)

London Youth Advisory Council: Claudia Gallant won with 1,514, a 52.3 per cent majority.


The Gazette news section is run by news editors and staff. Reach the news section by emailing news@westerngazette.ca or call 519-661-2111 ext. 81505.

Comment Rules

Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Defamation. No comments that appear to be defamatory, derogatory or libelous.
Be proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Comments are approved manually and may take some time to show up on the site. All comments, as long as they follow the rules above, will be approved. We encourage all viewpoints and positive discussion.

Load comments